Washington State Society of Anesthesiologists

Upcoming Events

2017 Joint WSSA/BCAS Scientific Meeting
December 1 - 3, 2017
W Hotel Seattle   |   1112 4th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Registration and event details coming soon! 
Interested in joining us as a sponsor or exhibitor? 

Review our events for 2017 and prospectus >>

About the WSSA

Founded in 1948, the WSSA was formed to advance the science and art of anesthesiology, and to stimulate interest and promote progress in that specialty. It is a Washington State Non-profit Corporation, and is a component society of the American Society of Anesthesiologists.

NEEDED: Anesthesiology Volunteers

Hospitalito Atitlan - Santiago Guatemala

Due to an increased number of patients traveling from distant towns for C-sections, orthopedic surgeries and other procedures, we're doing more surgeries than ever. 

We're looking for new anesthesiology volunteers! Being a medical volunteer at the Hospitalito is life changing. You'll you share your valuable skills in an enriching, challenging setting, and have the opportunity to experience the beautiful Lake Atitlán area and its amazing Maya culture. Made up of professionals from Guatemala and around the world. Medical volunteers are an integral part of the Hospitalito medical team. Families of medical volunteers are welcome and embraced as part of the Santiago Atitlán community. Volunteers staying for one more or more may be provided complimentary housing.

If you or someone you know is interested in becoming an anesthesiologist volunteer, get in touch today! Contact Ken Bachenberg, MD Anesthesiologist at kenbachenberg@gmail.com for more details. 

Suicide Prevention Training CME Information

Physicians and PAs must complete this newly required training by the end of the first full continuing education reporting period after January 1, 2016, or during the first full continuing education reporting period after initial licensure, whichever is later. Suicide prevention training meeting the criteria established by the legislation taken between June 12, 2014 and January 1, 2016 can be counted toward the required six hours.

Find a course near you here.

CMS Establishes ICD-10 Center and Ombudsman Role 

CMS has created a new ICD-10 Coordination Center located in Baltimore, and has named emergency room physician William Rogers, MD as its “ICD-10 ombudsman” to address stakeholder complaints regarding the code switchover. Dr. Rogers is the director of the Physicians Regulatory Issues Team at CMS, which works to reduce the regulatory burden on physicians who participate with the Medicare program. His role as ICD-10 ombudsman will be to serve as an advocate within CMS. Contact Dr. Rogers at icd10_ombudsman@cms.hhs.gov.

Read More.

WSSA's 10-person delegation met with all of Washington State's Congressional offices on May 17, 2017, including Senator Maria Cantwell.

Learn More >>